SSC CHSL Syllabus 2021 Check Tier 1, 2 Exam Pattern

SSC CHSL Syllabus 2021 10+2 Exam Pattern: Staff Selection Commission will soon conduct the Combined Higher Secondary Level (CHSL) examination candidates who preparing for the said examination are suggested to check updated SSC CHSL Syllabus and Exam Pattern for Written and CBT exam from this page. Candidates can also check the full syllabus and exam pattern in pdf format by below direct link.

SSC 10+2 Exam syllabus of Combined Higher Secondary Level (CHSL) has divided into three rounds that is Tier 1, 2, 3. Tier 1 is the computer-based test (CBT), Tier two is the Descriptive Paper in English/Hindi and tier 3 is Skill Test/Computer Proficiency Test. So candidates are advised to check SSC CHSL Syllabus 2019 and prepare for the examination as per it. Scroll down the page of to get syllabus and exam pattern.

SSC CHSL 10+2 Exam Short Details:

Organization NameStaff Selection Commission
Exam NameCombined Higher Secondary Level (CHSL)examination
Page Category  Syllabus and exam pattern

Selection Procedure For SSC CHSL Exam:

Applicants will be selected for the Combined Higher Secondary Level examination on the basis of performance in Tier 1, 2, and 3 that is-

Tier – IObjective Multiple ChoiceComputer Based (online)
Tier – IIDescriptive Paper in English/HindiPen and Paper mode
Tier – IIISkill Test/Computer Proficiency TestWherever Applicable

SSC CHSL Tier 1 Exam Pattern:

Time Duration- 1 Hours (60 minutes)

SubjectNo of QuestionsMax Marks
General Intelligence and Reasoning2550
General Awareness2550
Quantitative Aptitude2550
English Comprehension2550

SSC CHSL Tier II Exam Pattern:

Time Duration- 1 Hours (80 minutes)

Number Of marks- 100

The tier two is the descriptive test conducted to evaluate the writing skills of the candidates. The paper consists of Essay writing of 200-250 words and Letter/Application writing of approximately 150-200 words.

SSC CHSL Tier III Exam Pattern:

The Tier 3 of SSC CGL Exam 2019 comprises of a couple of skill tests which are required for certain government posts.

SSC CHSL Syllabus 

SSC CHSL Tier 1 Syllabus:

  • General Intelligence and Reasoning-
  • Logical Reasoning
  • Alphanumeric Series
  • Ranking/Direction/Alphabet Test
  • Data Sufficiency
  • Coded Inequalities
  • Seating Arrangement
  • Puzzle
  • Tabulation
  • Syllogism
  • Blood Relations
  • Input Output
  • Coding Decoding

Quantitative Ability-

  • Quantitative Ability
  • Simplification
  • Profit & Loss
  • Mixtures & Allegations
  • Simple Interest & Compound Interest & Surds & Indices
  • Work & Time
  • Time & Distance
  • Mensuration – Cylinder, Cone, Sphere
  • Data Interpretation
  • Ratio & Proportion, Percentage
  • Number Systems
  • Sequence & Series
  • Permutation, Combination &Probability

English Language-

  • Reading Comprehension
  • Cloze Test
  • Para jumbles
  • Miscellaneous
  • Fill in the blanks
  • Multiple Meaning/Error Spotting
  • Paragraph Completion
  • One Word Substitution
  • Active/Passive Voice

General Awareness-

  • History
  • Culture
  • Geography
  • Economic Scene
  • General Policy
  • Scientific Research
  • Awards and Honors
  • Books and Authors

SSC CHSL Tier 2 Syllabus:

Essay writing and Letter/Application to check the writing skills of the candidates

The essay topics will be related to National Interest, Finance & Economy, Ecological Issues, Social Issues, Politics, Schemes & Governance, Technology, Sports, Geopolitics, and Environmental Concerns etc. While, the type of letter/ application asked will be Complaint, Suggestion, Application, Official Appreciation, Follow up or Feedback etc.

SSC CHSL Tier 3 Syllabus:

Skill/ Typing Test which would be of a qualifying nature


We hope the above given SSC CHSL Syllabus is beneficial for your preparation. Candidates  check the syllabus carefully and prepare for your examination accordingly. If you any query, candidates must submit in the below comment box.

Leave a Comment